Forty-seven Corprew Elementary School 4th graders became members of the National Elementary Honor Society as the Corprew NEHS Chapter held their annual induction ceremony on Monday, October 1st.

The students and the audience of parents, brothers and sisters, grandparents, Corprew teachers and staff listened as the chapter officers explained the criteria for membership and the four characteristics of an NEHS member. President Christian Rojas outlined the membership criteria while Vice-President Donato Castro discussed Leadership. Vice-President Alexis Mata talked about Scholarship, Secretary Selena Cruz discussed Responsibility and Treasurer Jayden Diaz explained the characteristic of Service.

Audrey Courreges, MPHS Senior and Captain of the Speech and Debate Team, gave the challenge to the inductees, encouraging them to work hard, set high goals for themselves and to strive to meet those goals.

To be a member of NEHS, a student must meet or exceed the national minimum standard of a cumulative average grade of 85%.  Students are also judged on their level of personal responsibility.  NEHS recognizes 4th grade students for their outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated personal responsibility. The organization seeks to provide meaningful service activities for students to both the school and the community and to develop essential leadership skills in elementary school students.

“We are very proud of the 47 students who were inducted into the NEHS at Corprew,” said Principal Amanda Jones.  “The students have worked hard to meet the requirements for NEHS. We will see these students do amazing things throughout their school career and in life.”

The 2018 inductees into the Corprew NEHS Chapter are Adisen Adams, Jaqueline Arroyo, Christian Banda, Stephanie Barrientos, Terrelle Beard, Terrence Beard, Itzel Bello, Juan Briseno, Donato Castro (Vice-President), Selena Cruz (Secretary), Jayden Diaz (Treasurer), Josiah DeLaRosa, Trace Ellis, Lenayha Edney, Jasani Inostros, Devyn Jarosh, Mykaela King, Juan Gomez, Violeta Gomez, Emanuel Gonzalez, Joel Gonzalez, Pilar Gonzalez, Jayron Guereca, Angeli Hernandez, Charlie Hernandez, Alexis Herrera, Adriana Hipolito, Jeremiah Johnson, Angela Lopez, Heidi Martinez, Alexis Mata (Vice-President), Teagan Mastrangelo, Ariel Mendez, Lachlan Miles, Viviana Nava, Zachary Nichols, Ethan Padilla, Conner Partin, Jacolby Pogue, Gisel Ramirez, Christian Rojas (President), Joseph Sanchez, Christerpher Toon, Evan Vanginault, Allie Villa, Olivia Villarreal, and Sara Vanhoose.

First Row (L to R)
Charlie Hernandez, Sara Vanhoose, Olivia Villarreal, Allie Villa, Evan Vanginault, Christerpher Toon, Zachary Nichols, Joseph Sanchez, Christian Rojas, Gisel Ramirez, Viviana Nava, Lachlan Miles
Middle Row (L to R)
Ariel Mendez, Teagan Mastrangelo, Alexis Mata, Heidi Martinez, Angela Lopez, Jeremiah Johnson, Adriana Hipolito, Alexis Herrera, Angeli Hernandez, Jayron Guereca, Pilar Gonzalez, Joel Gonzalez, Emanuel Gonzalez, Violeta Gomez, Juan Gomez, Mykaela King

Top Row (L to R)
Devyn Jarosh, Jasani Inostros, Lenayha Edney, Josiah DeLaRosa, Jayden Diaz, Selena Cruz, Donato Castro, Adisen Adams, Jaqueline Arroyo, Christian Banda, Stephanie Barrientos, Terrelle Beard, Terrence Beard, Itzel Bello, Speaker- Audrey Courreges