Seventeen E.C. Brice Elementary School 4th graders became members of the National Elementary Honor Society as the Brice Chapter held their induction ceremony on October 8.

Students and audience members listened to an explanation of what it means to be a member of NEHS. Chapter officers described the important characteristics of an NEHS member.

Mt. Pleasant High School senior Rebecca Yox was the guest speaker for the event. Yox, who attended E.C. Brice and was a member of the Brice NEHS when she was a 4th grader, congratulated the students on achieving membership in NEHS. She told the story of David and Goliath and stressed that even though the inductees were young, they could achieve amazing things.

Brice Principal Craig Toney said he was extremely proud of the students who were inducted into the school’s NEHS chapter. He also thanked the parents for their continued support for their students and for E.C. Brice.  “We are very proud of these kids and their accomplishments here at Brice Elementary,” said Toney.  “They truly exemplify everything that the National Elementary Honor Society celebrates and honors.”

To be a member of NEHS, a student must meet or exceed the national minimum standard of a cumulative average grade of 85%.  Students are also judged on their level of personal responsibility.  Once inducted, members are required to maintain the same level of performance in academics and responsibility. They are also required to attend monthly meetings and to participate in other chapter service projects and activities.

NEHS recognizes 4th grade students for their outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated personal responsibility. The organization seeks to provide meaningful service activities for students to both the school and the community and to develop essential leadership skills in elementary school students.

E.C. Brice Elementary School NEHS Inductees are Jannely Aguilar, Carson Bell, Erick Bernardi (not pictured), Drew Cross (Historian), Cohen Gillean, Cristopher Gonzalez, Isaac Hernandez, Mackenzie Jaime, Caydon Johnson (Treasurer), Jayden Loewen (Vice President), Melany Morales (President), Sergio Moreno (Parliamentarian), Ayda Payne, Karyme Sanchez, Mary Beth Snyder (Secretary), Edwin Valerio, and Maggie Wilson.

Photo: The new members of the E.C. Brice Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society.